Kansas Workers Compensation Resources

Workers Compensation Insurance - Kansas

In Kansas, most employers are statutorily required to provide workman's compensation insurance coverage to pay work comp benefits to their employees for work-related injuries, disability, death, or occupational diseases.   Coverage is paid for by the Kansas employer, and workers comp coverage begins on the employee’s first day of employment.  If you have questions, call us for expert guidance: 913-647-5536

Exceptions to the statute include some agricultural-related employers and employers with a gross annual payroll of less than $20,000. Corporations must include all officer payroll in determining the $20,000 threshold. Sole proprietor and partnership wages are not used.

All employees must be provided with workers comp coverage. Specific individuals can elect to be excluded from coverage, including owners and executive officers with 10% or greater ownership in the business.  Family members and relatives must be treated as employees unless they meet the ownership test.  

Payroll includes but is not limited to wages, salaries, commissions, bonuses, overtime at straight pay, vacation pay, and sick pay.  The rules for defining payroll are complicated.  Contact us for a free copy of the complete Kansas workers compensation insurance payroll definition.

Work comp insurance costs vary for individual businesses and are dependent upon the type of occupational employment risk, estimated annual payroll, and the company’s previous losses.

Kansas employers can satisfy their workers compensation insurance requirements in one of three ways:

  • Workers' compensation insurance obtained from an insurance carrier licensed to sell work comp insurance in Kansas.
  • An employer may provide self-insurance by demonstrating to the state of Kansas the financial ability to pay any workman's comp claims that might arise.  The Kansas Division of Workers Compensation must administer this self-insurance program.
  • A group of employers meeting specific statutory requirements may form a self-insurance workers comp insurance program to ensure their ability to pay claims jointly. The Kansas Insurance Department administers this program.

Intentional failure to provide workers compensation benefits in one of the above ways is a Class A misdemeanor in Kansas. Violation of the law subjects the employer to a civil penalty in an amount twice the annual premium the employer would have paid for workers compensation insurance or $25,000 whichever amount if greater.

A new rating structure in effect since 1995 allows workers’ compensation insurance coverage to be provided by private insurance companies on a competitive basis. Premiums are determined by applying the rate for a specific occupation, per $100 of payroll, to the annual wage per employee. Contact CheapWorkComp.com to obtain a free Kansas rate chart at 913-647-5536

The state’s administrative costs for workers’ compensation and maintenance of the Workers’ Compensation Fund balance are funded by assessments on the paid losses of insurance companies, group pools, and the self-insured. These rates are set annually based on the previous calendar year’s paid losses and the amounts required for administration and adequate Fund balance.

Kansas Resource Links:

Division of Workers Compensation
401 SW Topeka Blvd
Topeka KS 66603

Kansas Insurance Commissioner      Kansas Dept of Labor
1300 SW Arrowhead                             401 SW Topeka Blvd
Topeka KS 66604                                  Topeka KS 66603-3182
785-296-3071                                         785-296-5000

Counties and cities we serve in Kansas:

Douglas County including Baldwin City, Eudora, Lawrence, Lecompton. 

Franklin County including Lane, Ottawa, Pomona, Princeton, Rantoul, Richmond, Wellsville, Williamsburg. 

Jefferson County including McLouth, Meriden, Nortonville, Oskaloosa,Ozawkie, Perry, Valley Falls, Winchester. 

Johnson County including De Soto, Edgerton, Gardner, Leawood, Lenexa, Mission, New Century, Olathe, Overland Park, Prairie Village, Shawnee, Spring Hill, Stilwell. 

Leavenworth County including Basehor, Bonner Springs, DeSoto, Easton, Kansas City, Lansing, Leavenworth, Linwood, Tonganoxie. 

Linn County including Blue Mound, La Cygne, Linn Valley, Mound City, Parker, Pleasanton, Prescott. 

Miami County including Fontana, Louisburg, Osawatomie, Paola, Spring Hill. 

Shawnee County including Auburn, Rossville, Silver Lake, Topeka, Willard. 

Wyandotte County including Bonner Springs, Edwardsville, Kansas City Kansas, Lake Quivira.

Powered By: